ASEAN Para Games

The ASEAN Para Games is a biannual multi-sport event held after every Southeast Asian Games for ASEAN athletes with physical disabilities. The games are participated by the 11 countries located in Southeast Asia – Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Timor Leste and Vietnam . The Para Games, patterned after the Paralympic Games, are played by physically challenged athletes with mobility disabilities, visual disabilities, who are amputees and those with cerebral palsy.

The ASEAN Para Games is under the regulation of the ASEAN Para Sports Federation (APSF) and is traditionally hosted by the same country and sport venues where the Southeast Asian Games took place. Although it has been a norm for the Southeast Asian Games host nation to host the games, lack of accessible facilities or inexperience in catering to the needs for disabled sport triggered hosting city substitutions like Surakarta rather than Jakarta in the 2011 ASEAN Para Games, or a change of country Malaysia rather than Laos for the 2009 ASEAN Para Games.

The APG serves as a regional-level multisport event to prepare physically challenged ASEAN athletes to compete in the Paralympic Games. Aside from promoting friendship and solidarity among persons with disabilities in the ASEAN region through sports, the Games also hopes to promote and develop sports for the differently-abled, apart from to rehabilitating and integrating persons with disability into mainstream society through sports.